

## Policy and Resources Committee MINUTES

Of a meeting held in the Penn Chamber, Three Rivers House, Rickmansworth, on Tuesday, 24 May 2022 from 8.27 - 8.28 pm

Present:Councillor Sarah Nelmes (Chair)<br/>Councillor Stephen Giles-Medhurst<br/>Councillor Chris Lloyd<br/>Councillor Reena Ranger OBE<br/>Councillor Andrew Scarth<br/>Councillor Phil Williams<br/>Councillor Paul Rainbow<br/>Councillor Ciaran Reed<br/>Councillor Stephen Cox<br/>Councillor Philip Hearn<br/>Councillor Keith Martin<br/>Councillor Abbas Merali

#### Also in Attendance:

Councillors: Sara Bedford, Ruth Clark, David Coltman, Steve Drury, Andrew Fraser, Rue Grewal, Lisa Hudson, Tony Humphreys, Khalid Hussain, Raj Khiroya, Stephen King, Shanti Maru, David Major, Debbie Morris, Kevin Raeburn, David Raw, Stephanie Singer, Jon Tankard, Kate Turner and Anne Winter

#### **Officers in Attendance:**

Ciara Feeney, Interim Solicitor to the Council Geof Muggeridge, Director of Community and Environmental Services Kimberley Rowley, Head of Regulatory Services Alison Scott, Shared Director of Finance Sarah Haythorpe, Principal Committee Manager Lorna Attwood, Committee Manager

### PR1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Roger Seabourne.

### PR2 NOTICE OF OTHER BUSINESS

None received

### PR3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest

# PR4 TO RECEIVE THE RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE LOCAL PLAN AND EQUALITIES SUB-COMMITTEES OF POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

The report was being presented to the special Policy and Resources Committee to reestablish the following sub-committees of the Policy and Recourse Committee for 2022/23: Local Plan and Equalities.

The meeting had been included in the calendar of meetings specifically for this item of business as the two sub-committees will meet before the first ordinary meeting of the Policy and Resources Committee on 13 June 2022.

The report proposed that the Members appointed to them be proportional based on the number of seats each Group has following the election on 5 May.

Any Member of the Council could be appointed as a Member of a sub-committee. This was agreed by the Policy and Resources Committee at their meeting on 14 June 2021 (Minute No.PR05/21 refers). In addition any Member can be a substitute.

The Members appointed to the two sub-committees should have the following proportional membership: 5, 3 and 1.

It was proposed that a separate report be taken to the ordinary Policy and Resources Committee meeting on 13 June to re-establish the Constitution sub-committee (as there is no urgency for this sub-committee to be re-established). Also to be included in the report will be to discuss if the Covid-19 Response sub-committee is re-established for 2022/23 although it was not re-established for 2021/22.

Councillor Sarah Nelmes proposed, duly seconded, the recommendations in the report.

On being put to the Committee the motion was declared CARRIED the voting being unanimous.

**RESOLVED**:

- 1. That the two sub-committees be re-established (Local Plan and Equalities) and that Members be appointed with the following proportional membership: 5, 3 and 1 with any Member of Council being able to be appointed to the sub-committee subject to Political Proportionality Rules.
- 2. That the Members names be as follows:

Local Plan sub-committee:

Stephen Giles-Medhurst Stephen Cox Phil Hearn Reena Ranger Phil Williams Matthew Bedford Rue Grewal Sarah Nelmes Jon Tankard

Equalities sub-committee:

Stephen Giles-Medhurst Stephen Cox Rue Grewal Andrew Fraser Raj Khiroya Abbas Merali Sarah Nelmes Roger Seabourne Anne Winter

3. Agreed:

- That no decision making powers be delegated to the sub-committees; That all Members of Council to be substitute Members. a.
- b.
- That a separate report be presented to the ordinary meeting of the Policy and Resources Committee on 13 June 2022 to re-establish the Constitution sub-committee and on whether to re-establish the Covid-19 Response sub-committee for 2022/23. 4.

CHAIR